Pain

There's a cancer fundraiser chairity stream on right now. They speedrun games and it always raises a million dollars. There was one guy 'halfcoordinated' who can't use one side of his body who played really well with one hand.

I have RSI and get in a lot of pain so I had to stop programming and playing games. But I got thinking, maybe there's some way that I could play games without using my hands or arms - I get a bit unsettled sometimes when playing games for a long time because I'm not making "progress" (like learning something new or creating a program or something..).. but that isn't important: What is important is not being in pain.

So I looked for some disabled twitch streamers to see if they have any interesting input devices or techniques I could learn from. It was very sad and heartbreaking to read some stories of people who had accidents and became paralyzed but many of them also acheived things afterwards too which is inspiring.


Math

weird PhD

I came across a quite unusually written thesis with interesting back story to it. It is about equidistribution of the shapes of lattices for some number fields. Sounds very interesting and I might like to understand this after reading some background on parametrization by <https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manjul_Bhargava>.

One thing that was cool about it is she just writes what she wants and explains a lot of things in a way that people would normally not want to do. Like stressing that you aren't expected to understand a particular term yet since it hasnt't been introduced - a lot of stuff math people would know already but some might not be used to that.

<http://mathbabe.org/2015/12/11/piper-harron-discusses-her-artistic-and-wonderful-math-ph-d-thesis/>


Beiberbach Conjecture

There was an interesting response to a question about math and proofs on quora: <https://www.quora.com/Proofs-of-the-large-mathematical-problems-appear-to-be-becoming-longer-and-more-complex-Does-this-suggest-the-rate-of-progress-in-mathematics-may-eventually-diminish-to-zero>

As you can see here <http://mathworld.wolfram.com/BieberbachConjecture.html> the proofs for each coefficient came slowly over a long period of time. When it was finally proved the proof was huge and complex but got simplified and reduced down to something short and elementary.

There was some more good information about it here <https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/De_Branges's_theorem>


I don't know enough complex analysis to really understand what the theorem is about but I hope to learn that someady.


Unsatisfied

I've felt really unsatisfied with my day today (partly because I got sucked into some stupid computer bug thing and my arms felt uncomfortable because of all the typing commands) so I'm going to work on the DVR stuff that's been holding me up for a while. That'll be nice, especially to get it dealt with completely.