Math update

Math

I saw a curious identity 6!7!=10!6! 7! = 10! and I got curious about more factorizations of this type: a!b!=n!a! b! = n!. I did a computer search and found an infinity family (k!1)!k!=(k!)!(k! - 1)! k! = (k!)!. The original one is an except and every other one seems to fit into that family. I don't have a proof though.

An interesting problem I saw on MSE was that if p(x)p(x) is a polynomial who always takes on square values, can we write p(x)=(q(x))2p(x) = (q(x))^2 for some polynomial q(x)q(x)? The answer is yes and this is proved in a paper here: http://www.mast.queensu.ca/~murty/poly2.pdf

The author Ram Murty has a book about transcendental numbers which looks very interesting. I remember I was working on Davenport and that was going well - I took a digression to study quadratic forms a little. I would definitey like to continue working on and learning about QFs.

Something that has been nagging at me for a while is the Newton Polygon. It's what lies behind Eisensteins criterion and that lemma is so "magic". I would like to understand it deeper and I've heard it's explained by the Newton Polygon but I don't have a good reference for learning about that.

Update

I wrote the first part of this post a few days ago. Turns out the a!b!=c!a! b! = c! problem is actually open!

I'm just trying to think about what it is I should be doing with my time. I miss programming so much but I can't spend time doing that or it hurts my arms. The blog did help me find my feet a bit with math, I should continue studying mathematics.

I was wondering if I should learn Hartshorne, but it's so much work and it's all about C\mathbb C instead of Q\mathbb Q. That reminds me: I read a comment that homogeneous equations are curves but non-homog. are surfaces. We have more tools for dealing with curves.

There was a very impressive resolution of a quintic diophantine equation here: http://mathoverflow.net/questions/224232/rational-points-on-the-quintic-circle-x5-y5-7

I think I will change my blog software to use mathjax too. I really like katex but it seems to require javascript and it has a very low feature set. Hopefully in the future I can change back.